Just call me Martha Stewart…..nevermind

I love searching the web for new DIY projects to try.  I like to think of myself as a “crafty person” so I’m always looking for new things to create.

My latest venture was turning a wine crate/ wooden box, into a really neat shelf that could be used in our playroom.

In order to create my masterpiece, my first step was cutting the box down the middle in order to create two shelves. Since power tools and I don’t mix, I decided to try to cut through the wood using my handy electric kitchen knife which up to this point has served no purpose but collecting dust in a cabinet.

So, I got to cutting…………….and cutting………….and cutting some more.  After about 30 minutes of trying to cut through an inch thick piece of wood and barely making a notch, I realized that there is a reason it’s called an electric KITCHEN knife. You use it in the KITCHEN, not on carpentry projects.

With my first attempt ending in failure, I had no other choice but to wait for DB to get home so he could use his power saw to cut the box in half.

Once the box was successfully in two, I got to work sanding the edges, you know, so it looked like a “real” shelf, not just a box that had been sawed in half.

After I was satisfied with my sanding, it was time to get to work hanging my shelves. Once again, I feel the need to reiterate the fact that power tools and I DO NOT agree with one another! So, I came up with the wonderfully ingenious idea to use command strips to hang my shelves.

I know what you’re thinking, “this girl is a moron”, but, in my defense, I got the strips that are made to hold up to 16 lbs. because I figured a shelf with a few books on it couldn’t possibly weigh more than that. Baby DB weighs 19 lbs and the shelves were no where near as heavy as he is.

I also told myself that by using command strips, I wouldn’t have to put big holes in the wall that would have to be patched if I ever decided to move the shelves.

So, I applied my command strips, hung my shelves, and then stepped back to admire my work of art.

My masterpiece

I smiled to myself and thought, “Martha stewart ain’t got nothin’ on me”.

My victory, however, turned out to be very short lived because before I even finished patting myself on the back, this happened.my masterpiece has fallen <SIGH>, Ok, so maybe I’m no Martha, but at least I tried, and that should count for something. I also learned a very important lesson in the process, DON’T TAKE SHORTCUTS! Sometimes in order to achieve something, you have to put in a little elbow grease instead of just throwing up some command strips.

Leave a Reply

